The Strega Prize and the Italian Cultural Institutes

The five finalists

The five finalists (in alphabetical order): Andrea Bajani with Il libro delle case (Feltrinelli), Edith Bruck with Il pane perduto (La Nave di Teseo), Giulia Caminito with L’acqua del lago non è mai dolce (Bompiani), Donatella Di Pietrantonio with Borgo Sud (Einaudi), and Emanuele Trevi with Due vite (Neri Pozza).

The collaboration

The collaboration between the Italian Cultural Institutes (IIC) and the Strega Prize began in 2009 and has grown steadily over the years. In 2021, in collaboration between the Ministry and the Prize, the number of institutes participating in the jury was increased from 20 to 30, and the number of voters from 200 to 240, reflecting the increasingly international dimension of the Strega Prize and the important work of promoting Italian books around the world carried out by both the Farnesina and its cultural network. The IIC jurors, who express an individual vote, are chosen among personalities from the world of literature, culture and publishing in the countries where the institutes are based, remain anonymous and change periodically.

The international jury of the Premio Strega

To date, the following IICs are part of the international jury of the Premio Strega: Abu Dhabi, Hamburg, Amsterdam, Berlin, Brussels, Buenos Aires, Copenhagen, Helsinki, Cairo, Lyon, Lisbon, London, Los Angeles, Madrid, Melbourne, Montreal, Moscow, Paris, Beijing, Prague, San Francisco, St. Petersburg, Santiago, Shanghai, Stockholm, Tel Aviv, Tokyo, Warsaw, Vienna and Washington.


Gli ultimi articoli

Similar articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Subscribe to our newsletter